Skip to main content

Chris is the former Co-Chair of the Bevan Commission with an interest in innovation and end-of-life care. 

Born and bred in Pembrokeshire, Chris gained an honours degree in Pharmacy in Cardiff before starting his working life with Boots the Chemist, subsequently going on to own and build two successful independent community pharmacy businesses in the West Country and back in Pembrokeshire. 

He has extensive experience in the Public Sector having been Chair of four separate health organisation in West Wales concluding by being Chairman of Hywel Dda University Health Board, the Welsh NHS Confederation and the coordinating chairman of all health organisations in Wales. 

He was also Independent Chairman of the Prudent Prescribing Implementation Group, the Community Pharmacy Remuneration group and Health Innovation Cymru Wales. 

He is currently Chair of the Life Sciences Hub Wales Ltd, Chair of Pharmacy: Delivering a Healthier Wales delivery group and a member of the Health and Care Research Wales Advisory Board. 

He is Chairman of the Port of Milford Haven (third largest port by volume in the UK) and a Non-Executive Advisor on the Board of Alliance Healthcare Distribution UK Ltd (largest Pharmaceutical Wholesaler in the UK). 

He has several voluntary and charitable roles including being a Trustee and Board member of Marie Curie UK, Chairman of the Wales Advisory Board for Marie Curie, Chair of the Haverfordwest Swimming Pool Trustee Board and acts as a mentor on a voluntary basis. 

Chris was awarded a fellowship by the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain in 2006 for outstanding contribution to the practice of community pharmacy and an Honorary Doctorate (DLitt) by Swansea University in 2018 in recognition of his distinguished career and contribution to public life in Wales. Most recently he has become Deputy Lieutenant of Dyfed and a member on the King’s award for Enterprise (Sustainability Development) judging panel.